Autonomous regions of Russia: Nenets, Khanty-Mansiysk, Chukchi, Yamalo-Nenets


To date, the structure of the Russian Federationincludes four autonomous regions: Nenets, Khanty-Mansiysk, Chukchi, Yamalo-Nenets. Unlike all other equal subjects of the country, the autonomous regions of Russia and their capitals have their own specific territory. It can not be changed without the consent of the management and residents of the district. Autonomous regions of Russia have their own legislation and the full right to independently resolve many issues. They can independently establish trade and economic ties with other countries and regions.

The Nenets Autonomous Okrug is a part of theNorth-West District and is located in its north. Its territory is mainly located beyond the Arctic Circle. It borders on the Nanets district with the Republic of Komi in the south, with the Arkhangelsk region in the west, with the Yamal-Nenets autonomous region on the eastern side. On the north side, this territory is washed by the Barents, Kara and White seas. The administrative and economic center of the Autonomous Okrug is the city of Naryan-Mar. The area of ​​the Nenets district is 176.8 thousand square kilometers. As of 2010 there were just over 42 thousand people living on this territory.

autonomous regions of Russia
The Yamalo-Nenets Autonomous District is locateda little to the east of Nenets. Its area is much larger and is 769.3 square kilometers. According to the population census conducted in 2010, 546 thousand people live in this territory. It is part of the Tyumen region. It borders on Krasnoyarsk Krai in the east, with the Komi Republic in the west, with the Nenets Okrug in the north-west. Like other autonomous regions of Russia, it is divided into districts: Priural, Krasnoselkup, Nadym, Purovsky, Yamal, Tazovsky, and Shuryshkarsky. The administrative and economic center is the city of Salekhard, which is located on the territory of the Urals region

autonomous okrugs of russia and their capital
Khanty-Mansiysk District - Yugra is located to the southYamalo-Nanetsky. It borders on the Tomsk region and the Krasnoyarsk region in the east, with the Republic of Komi in the west and with the Sverdlovsk and Tyumen regions on the southern side. The capital of the district is directly the city of Khanty-Mansiysk. If we compare all the autonomous regions of Russia, then in the latter there are many more people. The population of the Khanty-Mansiysk region is more than 1.5 million people. In this autonomous territory, the following districts are distinguished: Oktyabrsky, Nefteyugansk, Berezovsky, Beloyarsky, Kondinsky, Sovetskiy, Khanty-Mansiysk, Nizhnevartovsk, Surgutsky.
autonomous okrugs

The autonomous okrugs listed are located incentral and western part of the Russian Federation. The easternmost is the Chukotka Autonomous District. It borders with Yakutia in the west, with the Kamchatka edge in the southeast and the Magadan region in the south. The eastern part of the district is washed by the sea. Currently, in the county, which is 721 thousand square kilometers, there live slightly less than 50 thousand people. The capital of the Chukotka Autonomous District is the city of Anadyr.

Comments (0)
Add a comment